All posts auto-expire in 3 months from last comment
Welcome to the new NCC Forum! We pray it can be a place where NCCers connect, find opportunities and share resources. You will need to create an account in order to share or exchange information.

Set your notification preferences here: Notifications.

If you used our old forum, you can find your old posts here: http://oldforum.theaterchurch.com for the next few months. However, it is read only, so please create new posts in here.

CM Looking for Male Roommates!

edited April 6 in Housing
Hi Everyone! 

I am moving to DC for a Pediatric Residency and I am looking for potential roommates to live with me! I am looking to live around NW DC (around Columbia Heights or Adams Morgan) but I am really flexible about the location. Please reach out if you have an opening, or if you'd like to join me in finding a place! I plan to move in sometime before June 1st! 

Comments

  • Hey. I’m looking for a roommate too. What’s your budget? I’m from Texas and have a couple degrees. Currently an energy consultant looking in downtown DC or navy yard/wharf area. 
  • Hey guys,

    My CM group house is looking to fill a spot. Hope you both would be interested. Lived here for almost two years and was my best decision.

    @branjoho Where are you doing your residency? I'm a psych student (PhD not MD) working at GWU Hospital at the moment! 

    Best wishes to you both!

    Jeff (email james.colten@gmail.com for housing info though)

    Summary

    Room available in Mt Pleasant Group House. Open spot is part of a shared master bedroom & walk-in closet (shared with 1 person) - $700/mo. Other spots in the house will be available later this summer or fall, so email james.colten@gmail.com if you’re interested in learning about any of the opportunities and ask for pics!

    DETAILED

    Shared room available.  Townhome located off Newton St, NW.  Preferred move in date is July 1st, but we are open to an earlier date. Keep reading if you can’t move in until later in the year--we will definitely have 1-2 openings later this summer/early fall!

    Rent $700  Security Deposit $700.

    Location/House executive summary: Historical, diverse, quiet neighborhood near a bunch of public transit options. House was recently renovated and is furnished (by current housemates) with pretty much everything you could want.

    Location details

    • Mount Pleasant (near intersection of 17th St. NW and Newton St. NW)

    • 10 minute walk to Columbia Heights Metro.  

    • 10 minute walk to Giant / Target / Best Buy at Columbia Heights shopping center.  

    • 5 minute walk to slew of delicious, independent restaurants at Mount Pleasant St. (e.g., Don Juan’s, Angelico’s Pizza, Pollo Sabroso, Beau Thai, Purple Patch, Elle)

    • 5 minute walk to scenic Rock Creek Park off 17th St.  

    • 3 min walk to H3/H4, H8, 42, S2/S4/S9 buses.

    House details

    • Marble and hardwood flooring

    • In-home washer/dryer (2nd floor)

    • Gas Stove

    • Back porch with grill and awesome outdoor lights

    • Front porch / front yard

    • 5 bedroom, 2.5 bath

    • Utilities (Electricity, Water, Gas, and Internet/basic cable) run ~$70/month/person, depending on the season

    About the room

    • Large master room that fits two queen beds

    • On 3rd floor of the house

    • Shared room with one other person

    • Shared bathroom with two other people

    • Huge walk in closet suitable for 2 people

    • Shared bathroom with 3 people total (1 roommate and one “across-the-hall mate”)

    Roommates

    • Friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Christian, Inclusive, LGBTQ-friendly, and racially diverse.

    • House bonding / team-building activities have included AYCE Korean BBQ, hiking Old Rag, setting escape room records, making big meals that barely fit on the dining room table, game nights, movie nights, handing out halloween candy on Halloween, hosting low-key parties to bring all of our favorite people together.

    • You’ll be sharing the house with:

      • J : Nonprofit by day, musician by night. Enjoys running, cooking, watching sports, and playing games. Enneagram 9, if you know what that is.

      • F : Mgmt and tech consultant during the day. Mgmt and tech consultant during the night. He spends most of his extra time thinking about ways to not be a mgmt and tech consultant for the rest of his life. Other than that, enjoys playing and watching sports, listening to good music, travelling, eating out and making innovative cereal dishes.

      • J :  PhD student at UMD, plays volleyball, likes to cook, drink, watch netflix, and eat. Usually, busy with graduate-related responsibilities, but enjoys being social and having fun. ENFP; I think I’m a Type 2 or 3 on the Enneagram.

      • V : Does cool things. Is a cool person. Requires cool housemates. Not willing to compromise on this.

      • D : Makes people coffee and stares at a computer screen. Enjoys bicycling, hiking, and good conversations. Volunteers with Collective Action for Safe Spaces.

    Lease

    • Runs through June 30, 2019 (A one year lease)

    • If you cannot stay through the end of the lease, there is a $350 fee (by the landlord) to remove you from the lease agreement. But you will get your security deposit back immediately (via the person who moves into your room).  You will also be responsible to fill your spot.

Sign In or Register to comment.